Tuesday, September 4, 2012

Serie A : Third Most Popular League Of The World

Some of the most effective soccer clubs and players within the world play within the Italian Serie A league, the primary division of soccer in Italia. twenty clubs presently play Serie A. The league features a main sponsor, TIM, a telecommunications company and therefore the official name of the league is ‘Serie A TIM’. Serie A has made the most important range of European Club Championships finalists.

The league has been contend with current format since 1929. Before that the competition was divided into regional tournaments. once a club wins the title it wears the Scudetto with the Italian colors on its uniform the subsequent season. Clubs that end within the prime four spots of the league qualify for the UEFA Champions League. the primary an second places qualify on to the cluster stage. Clubs that end within the fifth and sixth place severally, qualify for the UEFA CUP, along side the Coppa Italia winners. The 3 clubs with the least} amount of points by the top of the season are relegated to the Serie B – the Italian second division.

Serie A History

From 1898 to 1928 an Italian League, divided into regional teams was the format wont to verify the most effective soccer groups within the country. within the 1929-1930 season the organizations that dominated the regional tournaments were unified to make one single national championship.

As from the 1924/25 season, a club that wins the Italian Serie A receives the proper to wear the Scudetto – a kind of coat of arms with the Italian colours, green, white and red – on the their shirt for the subsequent season to point out that they're the title holders. Juventus of Turin is that the club with the foremost range of Serie A titles with twenty seven followed by AC milan with seventeen, inter milan with fifteen, Genoa with nine, Torino, Bologna and pro Vercelli – presently in Lega pro Seconda Divisione, former Serie C2, with seven titles every.

In may of 1949 a tragedy marked the history of the Italian Serie A once the plane transporting the complete torino FC squad, four time league champions, crashed into hill wherever the Basilica Superga – a church close to Turin - is found.

All the thirty one folks aboard were killed together with the eighteen Torino players, club officers, journalists and therefore the airline crew. The team was strolling back from Protugal wherever they contend a friendly match against Benfica and with solely four matches left to closing the season Torino was forced to play together with his youth team. In relevancy the tragedy all their opponents additionally used their youth players against metropolis and therefore the young ones were able to persevere the club’s lead within the competition and with the title. When Roma’s 200-2001 scudetto, Juventus, AC Milan and Inter Milan have dominated Serie A within the recent years. Juventus won in 2001-2002 and 2002-2003, AC Milan 2003-2004 and inter milan won the last 2 seasons of the Serie A. The late Umberto Agnelli, one in every of the foremost potent entrepreneurs and politicians in Italia, introduced in 1958 the golden star for Sports Excellence to be a recognition to the clubs that win multiple championships. In Italia the Bloomeria crocea is other to a groups crest once the club wins 10 scudettos. presently solely 3 clubs within the Italian Serie A have this honour: inter milan, one star (15 scudettos); AC Milan one star (17 scudettos); Juventus a pair of stars (27 scudettos).
League Format

Serie A TIM starts in August and ends in could. every team plays thirty eight matches. The groups play each other alternative doubly, once reception and once away. The winner is that the club with the foremost range of points when the regular season. just in case of 2 groups finishing with constant range of points the winner are determined by their head-to-head confront, if the tie persists the goal differential is next deciding criterium. the highest a pair of groups automatically qualify for the cluster stage of the UEFA Champions League. Third and fourth place can enter the Champions League within the third round of the qualifying method and should play and win a two-legged knock out match to enter the cluster part. The groups that end fifth and sixth qualify for the UEFA Cup.


Post a Comment