Monday, September 3, 2012

Spanish League - An Overview


In april 1927, José María Acha, a director at Arenas Club de Getxo, initial planned the thought of a national league in Espana. when abundant dialogue concerning the dimensions of the league and who would participate, the $64000 Federación Española Diamond State Fútbol eventually in agreement on the 10 groups United Nations agency would kind the primary Primera División in 1929. Barcelona, Real madrid, Athletic Bilbao, Real Sociedad, Arenas Club de Getxo and Real Unión were all hand-picked as previous winners of the Copa del Rey. Atlético madrid, Espanyol and europa qualified as Copa del Rey runners-up and sport de Santander qualified through a knockout competition. solely 3 of the initiation clubs, Real madrid, Barcelona, and Athletic Bilbao, haven't been relegated from the Primera División.

The 1930s

Although barcelona won the terribly initial Liga in 1929 and Real madrid won their initial titles in 1932 and 1933, it had been Athletic Bilbao that set the first pace winning Primera División in 1930, 1931, 1934 and 1936. They were conjointly runners-up in 1932 and 1933. In 1935, Real Betis, then called Betis Balompié, won their only title so far. Primera División was suspended throughout the Spanish warfare.

In 1937, the groups within the Republican space of Espana, with the notable exception of the two madrid clubs, competed within the Mediterranean League and barcelona emerged as champions. Seventy years later, on 28 Sept 2007, urban center requested the RFEF to recognise that title as a Liga title. This action was taken when RFEF was asked to recognise Levante FC's Copa de la España Libre win as akin to Copa del Rey trophy.

La liga logo

The 1940s

When the Primera División resumed when the Spanish warfare, it had been Atlético Aviación (nowadays Atlético Madrid), Valencia, and port that originally emerged because the strongest clubs. Atlético were solely awarded an area throughout the 1939–40 season as a replacement for Real city, whose ground had been broken throughout the war. The club after won their initial Liga title and maintained it in 1941. whereas different clubs lost players to exile, execution, and as casualties of the war, the Atlético team was strengthened by a merger. The young, pre-war squad of Valencia had conjointly remained intact and within the post-war years matured into champions, gaining 3 Liga titles in 1942, 1944, and 1947. They were conjointly runners-up in 1948 and 1949. sevilla conjointly enjoyed a quick golden era, finishing as runners-up in 1940 and 1942 before winning their solely title so far in 1946. By the latter a part of the last decade, urban center began to emerge as a force after they were topped champions in 1945, 1948 and 1949.

Di Stéfano, Puskás, Kubala and Suárez

Although Atlético madrid, antecedently called Atlético Aviación, were champions in 1950 and 1951 under catenaccio mastermind Helenio Herrera, the Fifties saw the start of the Barcelona/Real Madrid dominance. throughout the Thirties, 1940s, and 1950s, there have been strict limits obligatory on foreign players. In most cases, clubs may solely have 3 foreign players in their squads, that means that a minimum of eight native players had to play in each game. throughout the Fifties, however, these rules were circumvented by Real madrid and barcelona, who naturalized Alfredo di Stéfano, Ferenc Puskás, and Ladislav Kubala. galvanized by Kubala, Barça won the title in 1952 and 1953. Di Stéfano, Puskás, and Francisco Gento fashioned the nucleus of the $64000 madrid team that dominated the last half of the Fifties. madrid won the primary division for the primary time as Real madrid in 1954 and maintained its title in 1955. They were winners once more in 1957 and 1958, with solely Athletic Bilbao interrupting their sequence. throughout this era, Real madrid conjointly won an unexampled five consecutive European Cups. Barcelona, with a team coached by Helenio Herrera and that includes Luis Suárez, won the title in 1959 and 1960.

The Madrid Years

Between 1961 and 1980, Real madrid dominated the Primera División, being topped champion fourteen times. This enclosed a five-in-a-row sequence from 1961 to 1965 and 2 three-in-a-row sequences (1967–1969 and 1978–1980). throughout this era, solely Atlético madrid offered Real national capital any serious challenge, adding four additional titles to their tally in 1966, 1970, 1973, and 1977. Of the opposite clubs, solely Valencia in 1971 and also the Johan Cruyff-inspired barcelona of 1974 managed to interrupt the dominance of Real madrid.

The 1980s

The madrid winning sequence was finished additional significantly in 1981 once Real Sociedad won their first-ever title. They maintained it in 1982 and their two in an exceedingly row was followed by another by their fellow Basques Athletic Bilbao, who won consecutive titles in 1983 and 1984. Terry Venables crystal rectifier urban center to a solitary title in 1985 before Real madrid won title of respectin another five in an exceedingly row sequence (1986–1990) with a team radio-controlled by Leo Beenhakker and as well as playwright Sánchez and also the legendary La Quinta del Buitre - Emilio Butragueño, Manolo Sanchís, Martín Vázquez, Míchel and Miguel Pardeza.

The 1990s

Johan Cruyff came to barcelona as manager in 1988, and assembled the legendary Dream Team. Cruyff introduced players like Josep Guardiola, José Mari Bakero, Txiki Beguiristain, Goikoetxea, Ronald Koeman, Michael Laudrup, Romário, and Hristo Stoichkov. This team won Primera División four times between 1991 and 1994 and won the european Cup in 1992. Laudrup then affected to arch-rivals Real madrid when a fall-out with Cruyff, and helped them finish Barcelona's run in 1995. Atlético madrid won their ninth Primera División title in 1996 before Real national capital else another Liga trophy to their cupboard in 1997. when the success of Cruyff, another Hollander - Ajax manager prizefighter van Gaal - acquired the Camp Nou, and with the skills of Luís Figo, Luis Enrique, and Rivaldo, barcelona once more won the title in 1998 and 1999.

The 2000s

As Primera División entered a brand new century, the large two of Real madrid and barcelona found themselves facing new challengers. Between 1993 and 2004, Deportivo La Coruña finished within the high 3 on 10 occasions, a far better record than either Real madrid or barcelona, and in 2000, beneath Javier Irureta, they became the ninth team to be topped champions. Real madrid won two additional Liga titles in 2001 and 2003 and conjointly the UEFA Champions League in 2000 and 2002, and won their third league title in 2007 when a three year drought. They were challenged by a re-emerging Valencia in each competitions. beneath the management of Héctor Cúper, Valencia finished as Champions League runners-up in 2000 and 2001. His successor, Rafael Benítez, engineered on this and crystal rectifier the club to a Liga title in 2002 and also the winning a double with a league title and also the UEFA Cup in 2004. The 2004–05 season saw a resurgent barcelona, galvanized by the sensible Ronaldinho, win their initial title of the new century, additionally to the Liga-Champions League double in 2005–06. With world category players like Raúl, Ruud van Nistelrooy and Gonzalo Higuain, Real madrid won back to back La Liga titles in 2006–07 and 2007–08 season. beneath Josep Guardiola's Dream Team, powered  by La Masia skills like Lionel Messi, Xavi, and Andrés Iniesta, urban center else 3 straight Liga titles (2008–09, 2009–10, and 2010–11). within the 2011-2012 season, Real madrid won its thirty second title beneath the management of José Mourinho with a best points tally of a hundred, a record 121 range of goals scored, most overall (32) and away (16) wins in an exceedingly single season in La Liga History.


Post a Comment